Cross Country

UW’s Henry named MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year

UW's Henry named MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year

College of Wyoming olympic style sports champion Christopher Henry is the Mountain West Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year for 2020-21, the association declared on Tuesday.

Henry turns into the 6th Wyoming understudy competitor to win the honor, joining Nick Smith (Football 2018-19), Audra DeStefano (Cross Country/Track and Field 2016-17), Luke Ruff (Football 2012-13), Chaundra Sewell (Women’s Basketball 2012-13), and Greg Miller (Cross-Country/Track and Field 2011-12).

Set up by the Mountain West Joint Council in 1999, the MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award is the most noteworthy honor the gathering presents to its understudy competitors. It is granted every year to one male and one female who best represent the expression “understudy competitor” by accomplishing greatness in the space of scholastics, games and local area association. The group noticed that beneficiaries “should have a base 3.5 aggregate grade point normal, show administration, and display great person and lead on and off the battleground,” with every honoree getting a $2,500 postgraduate grant.

Henry, who featured at Laramie High prior to joining the Cowboys, was a six-time All-Mountain West choice during his vocation at UW. The senior addressed the Cowboys as a person at the 2019 NCAA Cross Country National Championships, as well as being a piece of the 2018 gathering that was the main Cowboys crosscountry group to contend at the occasion since 1986. Henry completed 136th in 2019 and set 63rd in general in 2018, when the group came in twelfth spot.

A four-time Mountain West Scholar-Athlete Award beneficiary and a three-time Academic All-American, Henry acquired the NCAA Elite 90 Award at the NCAA Cross Country National Championships as the top scholastic contender at a title level meet in 2018-19 and 2019-20.

Five Cowboys selected as golf All-America researchers

The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) reported its Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for the 2020-21 season on Tuesday, with five individuals from the UW men’s golf crew getting praises.

Kirby Coe-Kirkham, Jared Edeen, Tyler Severin, Dan Starzinski and Bryce Waters addressed the Cowboys on the rundown, with UW’s five honorees coordinating with the most in program history and positioning twelfth among all Division I groups this year. The Cowboys, who had five understudy competitors acquire the honor for the second back to back season, tied Boise State and New Mexico for the most in the Mountain West.

Starzinski, a three-time All-America Scholar, moved on from UW with a four year certification in structural designing and a graduate degree in business organization. Three other Cowboys — Coe-Kirkham, Edeen and Waters — procured the status for the second time in their professions, with Severin being selected as an All-America Scholar interestingly.

To be qualified for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status, an individual should be a sophomore, junior or senior scholastically in Division I, II, III, and NAIA, or accepting their partner’s certification in their last year of athletic qualification in the NJCAA. Division I understudy competitors should have a stroke normal under 76.0, while keeping a base aggregate profession grade-point normal of 3.2.

Related posts

Charity cyclists stop in C.O. on cross-country ride to spotlight, meet need for better housing


Blinkfestivalen 2021, here is the program: four cross-country skiing and three biathlon competitions


Secondary school fall sports see: County groups prepared for 2021 season


Leave a Comment