Diamond League

Everything you need to know about the Diamond League

The world of sports in general is exciting. And athletics, being one of its pillars, has a large number of competitions and tournaments, one of the most important being the Diamond League.

The IAAF Diamond League -original name in English- is an event organized by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF, for its acronym in English), which is held annually and had its first edition in 2010 .

The Diamond League replaced the IAAF Golden League , an event that took place between 1998 and 2009.

It should be noted that the rules of the event have undergone some changes . During the first editions, the athletes who collected the highest number of points at the end of the year in each of the 16 disciplines were awarded, which are divided into male and female branches.

Each test that awarded points took place in seven meetings. The first six places in each event won 10, 6, 4, 3, 2 and 1 points respectively, the last date being the only one that awarded double points. In the end, the winners acquired the Diamond Trophy plus a cash prize of $ 50,000.

However, as of this 2017 edition, the Diamond League rules are as follows:

-14 meetings are held during the year.

-The events that award points take place six times (100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1,500m, hurdles races, high jump, pole vault) or four times (5,000m, 3,000m hurdles, 400m hurdles, jumping length, triple jump, throws) before the finals throughout the season.

-12 of these meetings serve as classification for the last two of the calendar, in which the finals of the tests take place.

-In the first 12 meetings, points will be distributed to qualify for the final of each test. 8 points are awarded to first place, 7 to second and so on until 1 point is awarded to eighth place.

-For the final of each test, to be held in the last two meetings, the first 7, 8 or 12 athletes will participate (depending on the modality) who accumulate the most points to compete in the Diamond Trophy and cash prizes.

The French Renaud Lavillenie is the top winner of diamond trophies in the men’s branch, with a total of 7 , all of them in the Pole Vault event. For the female branch, the top winners are Valerie Adams, from New Zealand, with 5 victories in the Shot Put event; and the Croatian Sandra Perković, also with 5 trophies but in the Discus Throw event.

Source: IAAF.org , DiamondLeague.com
Image: IAAF.org

Related posts

Uganda: Nakaayi Aims to Break Two-Minute Barrier At Oslo Diamond League


Jamaican sprinter Fraser-Pryce eyes 2024 Paris Games


School Football Conference Realignment Is Back as Texas and Oklahoma Consider Bolting to the SEC


Leave a Comment